Writing 101, day 20 – “The things we treasure”

I have many special treasures

I’ve collected through the years

Most of which have brought me joy

But some have brought me tears

I keep them in a special box

But get them out once in a while

For each of them bring pleasure

Memories with a smile

Too many to mention every one

So here are just a few

A sharing of some memories

Especially for you.

My Yogi Bear spoon free with Cornflakes

When I was a lad

A Batman card from bubblegum

Many sticks of which I’ve had

A ticket from a discotheque

From nineteen seventy-seven

One from an unpronounceable place

I went in Wales when eleven

A William Wordsworth poems book

Page thirty-five my favourite still

“I wandered lonely as a cloud

That floats on high o’er vale and hill”

A Nineteen Fifties ration book

A great aunt left for me

Complete with unused coupons

For eggs and cheese and tea

A ticket to see Van Gogh’s museum

Amsterdam in seventy-eight

An art college trip I almost missed

When I overslept and was very late

And finally a drawing

By my daughter, all of three

A very treasured picture of

Her Daddy in a tree

©Jemverse (June 2014)

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wren
    Jun 27, 2014 @ 20:12:06

    what a beautiful, rhyming ode to treasured objects!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Jem Croucher
    Jun 27, 2014 @ 20:17:17

    Thanks. Very kind. Big smiles!

    Like

    Reply

  3. InfiniteZip
    Jul 21, 2014 @ 09:45:23

    this is most wonderful. I love treasures and memories…bits of what inspires, and pieces of our hearts kept to reminisce by:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

