Whisper before the morning

It is the whisper before the morning

and I have captured the curl of a smile

caught with the taste of salt on my lips

and lingering for a while.

I have seen a long night of summer calm

come and go with the tide

sitting on the shingle here

my two dogs at my side

I have seen a fading azure sky

over in the east

and I have witnessed dawn’s full splendour,

a perfect visual feast

It is the whisper before the morning

and its fragrance is as new

it is a privilege to be here

bequeathed to very few

 

©Jemverse

 

Dedicated to Margaret Hamerton 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy Macdonald
    Jul 19, 2014 @ 16:28:50

    Jem, this is breathtakingly beautiful. I’m sharing it on Google+.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Jem Croucher
    Jul 19, 2014 @ 16:30:40

    Thank you Wendy. That means an awful lot. Big smiles.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Wendell A. Brown
    Jul 21, 2014 @ 07:17:59

    Jem, awesome poem…it gave birth to many smiles within!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Jem Croucher
    Jul 21, 2014 @ 09:20:47

    Thanks so much for that Wendell – a smile is mostly what it’s all about for me. Glad you visited too – meant I discovered your blog – some good stuff there.

    Like

    Reply

  5. sheketechad
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 02:40:05

    Jem, this is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

