Life as a flower

Below ground I lay dormant
Biding my time
Pushing up through dark soil
When the weather is fine

I have learned to stand upright
With my roots firm and strong
But it is up in the daylight
Where I truly belong

Green shoots through the frost
I stand up to the world
As soon my true beauty
Will be known and unfurled

In adolescence I grow taller
Seeking the sun
As my flowers begin budding
My life is begun

Blue mirrors the sky
As my beauty it grows
I have blossomed and flowered
And stand proud as it shows

And as the Spring gathers purchase
I mature gracefully
My blue in abundance
I am happy and free

Then, as Summer commences
With its warming new birth
My evening begins
And I return to the earth

My blue fades and withers
I shrink and grow thin
And return to the darkness
As my life starts to dim

But deep down in the soil
Though dormant, I live
Biding time for the moment
When more pleasure I’ll give

©Jemverse

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beingeternal
    Oct 15, 2014 @ 08:35:35

    Amazingly beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

