In my own footsteps

Took a walk on Southwick Beach
On a bright blue winter’s day
Across the locks at harbour’s mouth
Where ships at anchor lay

So many times those years ago
I came here as a boy
So returning now five decades on
Is something I’ll enjoy

Time stands still for no man it’s said
But here it’s much the same
As my memory of those halcyon days
Returns me there again

So following in my footsteps
I retrace the paths I took
Always good to sometimes go
And take another look

©Jemverse

Leave a Reply

