Dancing to Life

I danced on a quay at Emsworth
playing a really big drum
The crowds from the town all following us
and everyone having fun

I danced with Pride in Brighton
‘neath a rainbow coloured flag
The crowds of people partying
in the sun made me feel glad

I danced on the Portsmouth waterfront
as five tall ships furled sail
The rhythm of the music thrummed
and helped tell a happy tale

I danced then and I’m dancing now
because the music never dies
It’s always in my heart and mind
for that’s where my rhythm lies

Β©Jemverse

[A-Z April blogging challenge – day 4 – #D]

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andywritespoems
    Apr 04, 2015 @ 12:35:14

    I love the thought that music isn’t just something external πŸ™‚

    I nominated you for the Creative Blogger Award, if you need to know the rules etc they’re on my post: https://andywritespoems.wordpress.com/2015/04/04/creative-blogger-award-thanks/
    Thanks for sharing your work πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

    • Jem Croucher
      Apr 04, 2015 @ 13:00:18

      Thank you so much for this and for the award nomination. I’m both honoured and massively humbled all at the same time. However, I hope you don’t mind but I’ve decided not to accept any more WordPress Blogging awards on Jemverse. I’ve had this in mind for some time now as I want the blog to be all about the words and my ability to continue sharing them with others. Having said that, I’m always on the lookout for fellow blogger poets out there, so will be having a good look at all of those I don’t yet know on your list. Many thanks again. Jem πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. johnmarkmiller
    Apr 04, 2015 @ 13:44:48

    I love that the music in his heart will never die – so very true!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

