Pops

J & C & John

For fourteen years in thirty-nine
You gave me life and more
But God had other plans in mind
When you left in seventy-four

Though forty years and more have passed
I still see you as clear as day
There within my minds’ eye view
On this, the tenth of May

But I see you as you were back then
Not eighty-one years now
A young man still at thirty-nine
That picture’s strong somehow

So here’s to many more then Pops
Happy Birthday Dad
The raising of a glass of beer
To a father from his lad

©Jemverse

Photo – me (in blazer), my brother Charles and my Dad – John A Croucher (10th May 1934 to 19th February 1974) R.I.P. [Today would have been his 81st birthday].

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JuleAnn
    May 10, 2015 @ 09:52:42

    What a heartwarming picture–glad you have such happy memories to comfort your loss.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. meerajay112
    May 11, 2015 @ 07:32:25

    A lovely poem and a wonderful picture! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. TanGental
    May 11, 2015 @ 13:37:44

    Fab; and the photo is so of its moment

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

