Fields of long summers

In fields of long summers
explored as a child
Seeking out blackberries
which grew in the wild
Enjoying adventures
in grass baked by the sun
Those were the days
filled with laughter and fun

Those fields of long summers
are explored by me still
For although I’ve grown older
I’ve not yet had my fill
The adventures have changed
in grass baked by the sun
But I’m still having days
filled with laughter and fun

And in fields of long summers
I expect to remain
Returning to them
again and again
With more adventures to come
in grass baked by the sun
And in old age have days
filled with laughter and fun

©Jemverse

Leave a Reply

