The Undertow

Beware the undertow
My Mother always said
Always wondered what it looked like
as the thought filled me with dread

I pictured quite a monster
Lurking down below
Beneath the waves just waiting
But for what, I didn’t know

I never, ever saw it
though I was often in the sea
But I know one thing for certain
That it never bothered me

Ever mindful of that warning
I have paused oft to reflect
For the sea with all its beauty
Still deserves all due respect

The love I have will never falter
For the ocean’s in my heart
But I’ll always heed the warnings
I was given at the start

©Jemverse

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laurajoli
    Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:29:10

    Lovely!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

