Winter

DSCN1835

Deep in the blue a jet plane soars
twin contrails ‘cross the sky
I wonder where it’s going to
up there so very high
Maybe to a warmer place
where the summer sun shines still
Leaving English wintertime
where it’s blustery and chill

It would be so nice to join it
and fly off to somewhere nice
But I’ll have to keep on dreaming
as I can’t afford the price
For me it’s still a daylight lamp
in a jumper by the fire
apart from when I venture out
in suitable attire

©Jemverse

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wyco
    Nov 12, 2015 @ 17:53:40

    Great work! I too wonder and daydream when I see a plane overhead. Great words.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

