Deference to summer

I could write of the winter
when my fingers are cold
and I feel in my bones
that I’m getting quite old

Or I could write of the spring
when there’s new life ahead
and I feel a bit younger
and brighter instead

I can write of the summer
when I’m bouncing again
and I feel full of life
with the sunshine refrain

And I can write of the autumn
when the evening returns
and I feel trepidations
born of winter concerns

I can write of all seasons
but I know which I prefer
as it’s always to summer
that I will defer

©Jemverse

Leave a Reply

