Turning wheels

DSCN6140

Now that it’s full summer
and Southern Rail has lost the plot
I thought I’d get back on the bike
and cycle whilst it’s hot
I leave in early morning
when the dawn has just arrived
and everything is quiet
and the peace is not contrived.

It really is a lovely time
to get out on the bike
There aren’t that many cars and
clear roads are what I like
But when I get down to the beach
and ride along the coast
and see the open ocean
That’s the bit I like the most

It’s a clear run through to Worthing
nine miles beside the sea
Takes around forty minutes
the wind – South Westerly
And words come whilst wheels are turning
verses forming in my mind
Inspiration evident
so they’re not that hard to find

I’ll watch the sea beside me
and when, once in a while
another cyclist passes by
I’ll wave and give a smile
It’s a lovely way to travel
with freedom guaranteed
Just me with turning wheels
on my trusty Kona steed

©Jemverse

Leave a Reply

