Routemaster No.5

IMGP0362

I saw a little London bus
on a table for a pound
At the car boot sale down on the Rec.
just waiting to be found
It’s been played with many times before
an original Matchbox toy
Something I was chuffed to find
for it’s sure to bring me joy

It’s just a little London bus
a Routemaster number five
A little scratched but pretty good
for sixty years alive
And it will now be treasured
and will see more years I’m sure
Providing pleasure yet again
as that is what it’s for

©Jemverse

Matchbox is a popular toy brand which was introduced by Lesney Products in 1953, and is now owned by Mattel, Inc. The brand was named as the original die-cast Matchbox toys, which were sold in boxes similar in style and size to those in which matches were sold. The Routemaster No.5  London bus is part of the original 1-75 series produced between 1953 and 1957. So my little bus is at least 59 years old!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sepultura13
    Aug 15, 2016 @ 14:31:43

    That’s a very nice find, indeed! My older brothers had quite a few Matchbox cars, including a red, double-decker like the Routemaster…I took it from them because they wouldn’t let me play with their ‘muscle-cars,’ LOL

    It sat on my window-sill for years, along with my stuffed animals, marble collection, and plants.
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

