Back to the beach

I haven’t been down to the beach
in quite a long while now
mainly due to lockdown
and a feeling that somehow
if it doesn’t feel quite right
to walk down into town
because of all the idiots
who spread this virus round
then as to get down to the beach
a walk through town is needed
I think my own advice is here
advice that is well heeded
And yes the time is coming
when it will be safe to go
and when that time arrives
I’ll be down there as you know
For the beach right here in Shoreham
is a place I love to be
‘Cos as a Sussex person
it is truly part of me

©Jemverse

Photo – Jempics

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Masa
    Mar 09, 2021 @ 18:10:30

    When I was a younger man, I took an enormous liking to the Romantics and their poetry – the allusions to nature, the beauty of taking a deep breath, and the harmonious embrace between man and the rest of the world. I smile at these recollections, and thank you for pulling them up from that murky beachside for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.