Walking to Africa

With best foot forward this New Year
determination sets my gait
with a virtual walk to Africa
as several million steps await

And it seems I'm not the only one
as in the rain today
I spied outside a gathering
of cyclists on their way

I'm guessing that their riding goal
was somewhat less than mine
particularly as the weather is
today far less than fine

Yet later in that same malaise I
stepped out on a Shank's Pony
a few more steps towards the goal
which may at times be lonely

But the purpose twofold resolute
will keep my best foot walking
with daily exercise to prove
with action over talking

©Jemverse

Photo – Jempics

[This year (2022) I’ve joined the ‘World Walking’ app and am using it, via two groups, to put my daily steps count to still better use. Two virtual walks: one around the coast of Africa (62,073,860 steps!) and one through all the counties of England (3,979,169 steps!). We’re over 1% on both already!]

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. OIKOS™- Art, Books & more
    Jan 16, 2022 @ 12:06:37

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.